• NZ Skeptics

last modified October 3, 2016 by strypey

The NZ Skeptics is "a non-profit body that exists to promote critical thinking... started in 1986 by [US-born climate change "skeptic"] Denis Dutton and Bernard Howard, amongst others. We currently have around 400 members." NZ Skeptics officers also operate a number of activist front groups including Making Sense of Fluoride and Society for Science Based Healthcare .

Officers and Committee (as of September 2016))

Executive Officers

    Chairperson: Mark Honeychurch (Wellington)
    Secretary: Craig Shearer (Auckland)
    Treasurer: Matt Beavan (Wairarapa)


    Editor: Christine Jaurigue (Wellington)
    Media Spokesperson: Vicki Hyde (Christchurch)
    Technology Officer: Daniel Ryan (Wellington)
    Outreach Officer: Lisa Taylor (Wellington)


    Barry Lennox (Rangiora)
    Brad MacClure (Invercargill)
    Clive Hackett (Christchurch)
    Nichola Williams (Auckland)
    Robert Woolf (Auckland)
    Steven Galbraith (Auckland)
    Sheree McNatty (Invercargill)

Past Committees

Year Starting     Chair     Secretary     Treasurer     Editor
2014     Mark Honeychurch     Craig Shearer     Matt Beavan     David Riddell/Christine Jaurigue
2013     Gold     Craig Shearer     Chris Jared/Matt Beavan     David Riddell
2012     Gold     Craig Shearer     Chris Jared     David Riddell
2011     Gold     Jim Cheetham     Michelle Coffey     David Riddell
2010     Gold     Paul Ashton     Michelle Coffey     David Riddell
2009     Vicki Hyde     Paul Ashton     Al Dennard     David Riddell
2008     Vicki Hyde     Paul Ashton     Al Dennard     David Riddell
2007     Vicki Hyde     Paul Ashton     Ian Short     David Riddell
2006     Vicki Hyde     Claire Le Couteur     Ian Short     David Riddell
2005     Vicki Hyde     Claire Le Couteur     Ian Short     Annette Taylor
2004     Vicki Hyde     Claire Le Couteur     Ian Short     Annette Taylor
2003     Vicki Hyde     Claire Le Couteur     Ian Short     Annette Taylor
2002     Vicki Hyde     Claire Le Couteur     Ian Short     Annette Taylor
2001     Vicki Hyde     Claire Le Couteur     Ian Short     Annette Taylor
2000     Vicki Hyde     Claire Le Couteur     Ian Short     Annette Taylor
1999     Vicki Hyde     Bernard Howard     Ian Short     Annette Taylor
1998     Vicki Hyde     Bernard Howard     Clare Simpson     
1997     Vicki Hyde     Bernard Howard     Bernard Howard/Clare Simpson     
1996     Vicki Hyde     Bernard Howard     Bernard Howard     Owen McShane
1995     Vicki Hyde     Bernard Howard     Bernard Howard     Owen McShane
1994     Vicki Hyde     Bernard Howard     Bernard Howard     Owen McShane
1993     Vicki Hyde         Bernard Howard     
1992     Denis Dutton         Bernard Howard     
1991     Denis Dutton         Bernard Howard     
1990     Denis Dutton         Bernard Howard     
1989     Denis Dutton         Bernard Howard     
1988     Denis Dutton         Bernard Howard     
1987     Denis Dutton         Bernard Howard     
1986     David Marks/Denis Dutton         Bernard Howard     David Marks